Stereoptic Cards

C1bMany years back my Grandmother gave me a gift that she was unaware how much an impact it was to have on me. It came about because I had bought a stereoptic card and I wanted to borrow a viewer. Well my Grand Parents had one and I headed over to view my new purchase.

After seeing the USS Oregon in 3D I thanked them and after a short visit I was planning to head home. Much to my surprise I was offered both the viewer and their cards. I knew no one had ever shown much interest in these. After trying to refuse I took the purchase home. I had used the viewer on several occasions but never spent a lot of time looking at their cards that is until last year.

While getting ready for the Centenary of The Great War, I saw several cards online dealing with the conflict. After going back to my cards, I found a dozen or so cards in my own collection. So over the next few weeks I will share these on both my blog as well as on Twitter.

Let me know what you think.

This entry was posted in Media. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stereoptic Cards

  1. Pete S/ SP says:

    Fantastic stuff. I’m rather keen on stereoptic photos myself, though my collection only amounts to a book of them on the RJW.

    I look forward to see what else you find.

    Cheers,

    Pete.

    • jony663 says:

      The Russo Japanese War happens at the very begining of the use of stereoptic devices. While I have not seen any from the RJW I have a couple from the earlier Spanish American War.

      • Pete S/ SP says:

        The book is called ‘The Siege at Port Arthur’ by Ron Blum, It was an ebay purchase. Included with the book was a pair of glasses to view the pictures with.

Leave a Reply

