Merry Christmas

I would like to wish you all a most very Merry Christmas. 2012 was a great year for my studies, the blog and my greater hobby. I look forward to seeing what Santa brings tomorrow and enjoy time with the family. I just hope it includes some quiet time to catch up on my reading (including Silent Night).

While this book asks more questions than it can answer, I want to dive deeper into the logistics of the holiday for both the British and German armies. Weintraub states in the book that the Bavarian Army sent two train loads of trees to their troops.  The British sent similar tokens of the holiday in the form of Princess Mary Tins.

The logistics of getting them to the front as well as family packages and mail had to be immense. Yet I have seen little said about it.

The troops had few comforts and these gifts were greatly appreciated. There value was greater than the effort taken to get them to the front.

Enjoy the holiday and I look forward in share my thoughts with you over the next year.
angus-mcbride-british-and-german-soldiers-hold-a-christmas-truce-during-the-great-war

This entry was posted in History. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

