Collecting Rules

I have a problem. It is I like to collect miniatures rules. I often buy them with little or no reason for playing them. I recently bought a set on ebay for a single scenario in the rules. That’s right, I bought a rulebook for all of five pages. That rules set was “Over The Top” by GDW.

When my interest first turned to The Great War, I was looking for a part of this war that included maneuver, great looking armies and bigger than life characters. While part of the 1914 Race to the Channel has its appeal (there are those armored cars and Belgians with the dogcart machine guns I headed east, to the land of desert and myths. Is there a character in The Great War bigger than TE Lawrence?

In searching for the appropriate rules, and before I found “If the Lord Spares Us”, I came upon “The Last Crusade” by Tim Goodlett and Mark Hayes. While neither rules system was what I was looking for they did offer me something I wanted, Army Lists and scenarios.

So do I have a problem? I don’t think so.

This entry was posted in Miniatures. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Collecting Rules

  1. Victor says:

    I do the same thing when it comes to rules. I have WWI rules that cover skirmish through grand tactical and I only use three sets: Piquet’s Barrage, Through the Mud and Blood and Great War Spearhead. I don’t think there is anything wrong with it.

Leave a Reply

