Buchanan Dog Park – A Historical Mystery

BP001 Today I spent a wonderful morning out at Lancaster Pennsylvania. Located in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch country.  It is a nice drive and we have a few favorite haunts we like to visit.

One of which is the Buchanan Park Dog Park. This park is wonderful all thanks to the assistance of Purina Beneful. We like the walks and Maya loves meeting her canine friends.

Today I took a detour to look at a monument to the Spanish American War. I have seen it a dozen times but today I was going for a closer look. This monument was erected to the sailors of the USS Maine lost in Havana harbor in 1898 by the veterans of this war. The monument was dedicated in 1913.

BP002A couple of interesting things about this monument, the cannons on either side of the solider are smooth bore guns from the American Civil War and not used in the actually fighting in Cuba and the Philippines. They may have been used for training the state militia, but that is only a guess on my part. I may be able to trace their history by their muzzle numbers.

The other thing is the powder tank mentioned on the back of the monument. What is it and were is it? My initial thought is it was used in a metal drive in the latter Great War or World War II. But that is just my initial take on it. I see a couple of inquiries going out to a couple of my favorite naval museums. If anyone is reading this and know what and were the powder take is please give me a shout.

Thank you.

3 responses to “Buchanan Dog Park – A Historical Mystery

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,496 other followers

